Raphael Flauger

Raphael Flauger

The University of Texas at Austin

2016 New Horizons in Physics Prize

For outstanding contributions to theoretical cosmology.


I am extremely grateful for the opportunity to spend much of my time pondering problems in theoretical physics and am humbled to be recognized for my contributions to cosmology. This would certainly not have been possible without the support and guidance of many people. I would especially like to express my deep gratitude to Arkady Tseytlin, as well as the members of the theory group at the University of Texas at Austin, in particular my PhD advisor Steven Weinberg. In addition, I am indebted to Richard Easther who mentored me during my two years at Yale University, as well as to Sergei Dubovsky and Matias Zaldarriaga who provided support and invaluable advice during my time at New York University and the Institute for Advanced Study. I am also extremely thankful to all my collaborators for the many stimulating discussions and fruitful collaborations, in particular to Daniel Green, Liam McAllister, Enrico Pajer, Rafael Porto, Alexander Westphal and Eva Silverstein, as well as Aurelien Fraisse, Colin Hill, Renee Hlozek and David Spergel. Last, but certainly not least, I would like to thank my friends and family, in particular my parents, for their unconditional support.

Breakthrough Prize Interviews