2015 Breakthrough Prize Symposium

The 2015 Breakthrough Prize Symposium was held November 10, 2014 at Stanford University and co-hosted by UC San Francisco and UC Berkeley.

The mathematics track featured a discussion with the 2015 laureates Simon Donaldson, Maxim Kontsevich, Jacob Lurie, Terence Tao and Richard Taylor, as well as individual talks from each of these prize winners. Videos are available here.

In life sciences, a panel with the 2015 laureates David Allis, Victor Ambros, Alim Louis Benabid, Emmanuelle Charpentier, Jennifer Doudna and Gary Ruvkun was followed by talks from 2014 laureates Richard Lifton, James Allison, Mahlon DeLong, Alexander Varshavsky andMichael Hall. Videos are available here.

The physics sessions concluded with a panel discussion on the future of experimental cosmology with 2015 laureates Saul Perlmutter, Adam Riess and Brian Schmidt, rounding off a day of 20 minute talks from Nima Arkani-Hamed, Juan Maldacena, Andrei Linde, Stephen Shenker, Alexei Kitaev, Patrick Hayden, John Preskill, Nathan Seiberg, Joe Polchinski and Uros Seljak. Videos are available here.

In addition, an opening session hosted by Fred Guterl of Scientific American explored the future of science research with John Hennessy, Sam Hawgood and Graham Fleming, followed by a panel with Terence Tao, Emmanuelle Charpentier, Jennifer Doudna and Saul Perlmutter. Videos of the two discussions are available here.