Fundamental Physics Prize Foundation announces nominees for $3 million prize

November 5, 2013 (New York): The Fundamental Physics Prize Foundation today announced the 2014 winners of the Physics Frontiers Prizes and New Horizons in Physics Prizes. The prizes recognize transformative achievements in the field of fundamental physics and aim to provide recipients with more freedom and opportunity to pursue future accomplishments.

The laureates of the 2014 Physics Frontiers Prize are:

  • Joseph Polchinski, KITP/University of California, Santa Barbara, for his contributions in many areas of quantum field theory and string theory. His discovery of D-branes has given new insights into string theory and quantum gravity, with consequences including the AdS/CFT correspondence.

  • Michael B. Green, University of Cambridge, and John H. Schwarz, California Institute of Technology, for opening new perspectives on quantum gravity and the unification of forces.

  • Andrew Strominger and Cumrun Vafa, Harvard University, for numerous deep and groundbreaking contributions to quantum field theory, quantum gravity, string theory and geometry. Their joint statistical derivation of the Bekenstein-Hawking area-entropy relation unified the laws of thermodynamics with the laws of black hole dynamics and revealed the holographic nature of quantum spacetime.

Laureates of the 2014 Frontiers Prize now become nominees for the 2014 Fundamental Physics Prize. Those who do not win it will each receive $300,000 and will automatically be re-nominated for the next 5 years.

The laureates of 2014 New Horizons in Physics Prize are:

  • Freddy Cachazo, Perimeter Institute, for uncovering numerous structures underlying scattering amplitudes in gauge theories and gravity.

  • Shiraz Naval Minwalla, Tata Institute of Fundamental Research, for his pioneering contributions to the study of string theory and quantum field theory; and in particular his work on the connection between the equations of fluid dynamics and Albert Einstein’s equations of general relativity.

  • Vyacheslav Rychkov, CERN/Pierre-and-Marie-Curie University/École Normale Supérieure, for developing new techniques in conformal field theory, reviving the conformal bootstrap program for constraining the spectrum of operators and the structure constants in 3D and 4D CFT’s.

The New Horizons Prize is awarded to up to three promising researchers, each of whom will receive $100,000.

The winner of the 2014 Fundamental Physics Prize will be announced on December 12, 2013 in San Francisco, along with the winners of the 2014 Breakthrough Prize in Life Sciences.

Media Contacts

Brunswick Group:

Oliver Phillips
+1 212 333 3810

Fundamental Physics Prize Foundation:

Leonid Solovyev
+44 7590 976 334

About the Prizes

The Fundamental Physics Prize Foundation is a not-for-profit corporation established by the Milner Foundation and dedicated to advancing our knowledge of the Universe at the deepest level by awarding annual prizes for scientific breakthroughs, as well as communicating the excitement of fundamental physics to the public. According to the Foundation’s rules, laureates of all prizes are chosen by a Selection Committee, which is comprised of prior recipients of the Fundamental Physics Prize. The Selection Committee for the 2014 prizes included:

  • Nima Arkani-Hamed
  • Lyn Evans
  • Fabiola Gianotti
  • Alan Guth
  • Stephen Hawking
  • Joseph Incandela
  • Alexei Kitaev
  • Maxim Kontsevich
  • Andrei Linde
  • Juan Maldacena
  • Alexander Polyakov
  • Nathan Seiberg
  • Ashoke Sen
  • Edward Witten

Additional information on the Fundamental Physics Prize is available at: