Breakthrough Prize Opens Nominations For 2015 Fundamental Physics And Life Sciences Prizes

The Nominations are Open through June 30, 2014.

May 14, 2014 (San Francisco) – Online nominations are now open for the 2015 Breakthrough Prizes in Life Sciences and Fundamental Physics, and can be submitted until June 30. The nomination form and the rules are available at

Any individual can submit an online nomination but self-nominations are not allowed.

Each year, up to six Breakthrough Prizes in Life Sciences are awarded. The prize honors transformative advances toward understanding living systems and extending human life. One prize per year is for work contributing to the understanding of Parkinson’s disease. Each laureate receives $3 million.

The Breakthrough Prize in Fundamental Physics recognizes major insights into the deepest questions of the Universe. The winner receives $3 million, and the prize can be split between several scientists.

About the Breakthrough Prizes

The Breakthrough Prizes were founded by Sergey Brin and Anne Wojcicki, Jack Ma and Cathy Zhang, Yuri and Julia Milner, and Mark Zuckerberg and Priscilla Chan. The prizes aim to celebrate scientists and generate excitement about the pursuit of science as a career.

Laureates of each prize are chosen by its respective Selection Committee, comprising previous recipients of the prize.

The Selection Committee for the 2015 Breakthrough Prize in Fundamental Physics includes:

  • Nima Arkani-Hamed
  • Lyn Evans
  • Fabiola Gianotti
  • Michael B. Green
  • Alan Guth
  • Stephen Hawking
  • Joseph Incandela
  • Alexei Kitaev
  • Maxim Kontsevich
  • Andrei Linde
  • Juan Maldacena
  • Alexander Polyakov
  • Nathan Seiberg
  • Ashoke Sen
  • John H. Schwarz
  • Edward Witten

The Selection Committee for the 2015 Breakthrough Prize in Life Sciences includes:

  • James P. Allison
  • Cornelia I. Bargmann
  • David Botstein
  • Lewis C. Cantley
  • Hans Clevers
  • Titia de Lange
  • Mahlon R. DeLong
  • Napoleone Ferrara
  • Michael N. Hall
  • Eric S. Lander
  • Robert Langer
  • Richard P. Lifton
  • Charles L. Sawyers
  • Alexander Varshavsky
  • Bert Vogelstein
  • Robert A. Weinberg
  • Shinya Yamanaka

Additional information on the Breakthrough Prizes is available at

For additional inquiries, contact