Online Nominations for 2013 Fundamental Physics Prize And New Horizons in Physics Prize Are Open

October 1, 2012: The Fundamental Physics Prize Foundation announces the opening of online nominations for the next Fundamental Physics Prize and New Horizons in Physics Prize. The electronic nomination form is available at and nominations will be accepted through November 20, 2012.

By the end of this year, the Foundation’s Selection Committee, which is comprised of prior recipients of the Fundamental Physics Prize, will publicly announce the three laureates of the Physics Frontiers Prize and up to three laureates of the New Horizons in Physics Prize. Laureates of the Physics Frontiers Prize will become nominees for the 2013 Fundamental Physics Prize. The winner of the Fundamental Physics Prize will be announced by the Selection Committee at a prize ceremony in the first calendar quarter of 2013. The Physics Frontiers Prize laureates who do not win the Fundamental Physics Prize will receive a prize of US$ 300,000 and will automatically be re-nominated for the Fundamental Physics Prize each year over the next 5 years.

All prizes will be awarded for past achievements in the field of fundamental physics with special attention to recent developments. The Fundamental Physics Prize and the Physics Frontiers Prize recognize transformative advances in the field, while the New Horizons in Physics Prize is targeted at promising junior researchers. The prize recipients will be invited to present public talks targeted at a broad audience, on subjects ranging from the basics of modern physics to cutting-edge research. These lectures, together with supporting materials, will be made available to the public, allowing everyone to keep abreast of the latest developments in fundamental physics, guided by contemporary masters of the field. Commenting on the opening of Nominations, Nima Arkani-Hamed, a member of Foundation’s Selection Committee said:

“This is a tremendous opportunity to recognize the highest levels of achievement in fundamental physics. We look forward to receiving nominations for outstanding candidates ranging across all areas of the field”.