2020 Breakthrough Prize Ceremony

The 2020 Breakthrough Prizes in Life Sciences, Fundamental Physics and Mathematics were awarded November 3, 2019 at a gala ceremony at NASA’s Hangar 1 in Mountain View, California. The theme of the evening was “Seeing the Invisible,” inspired by the Event Horizon Telescope Collaboration, the winners of the Fundamental Physics Prize, which first imaged a light-engulfing supermassive black hole in April, 2019. The event brought together luminaries in the science and tech communities alongside celebrities, musicians and dozens of current and prior Breakthrough Prize laureates for a celebration of science. The event was hosted by James Corden, and featured performances by Lenny Kravitz, will.i.am, and Rachel Zhang. The prizes were presented by Tyra Banks, Drew Barrymore, Sergey Brin, LeVar Burton, Priscilla Chan, Taraji P. Henson, Allison Janney, Karlie Kloss, Bobby Kotick, Adriana Lima, Edward Norton, Vlad Tenev, Anne Wojcicki, Eric Yuan and Mark Zuckerberg. The event was produced by Vanity Fair and Don Mischer Productions and broadcast live on National Geographic, Facebook and YouTube. Watch the ceremony here.