2019 Breakthrough Prize Ceremony

The 2019 Breakthrough Prizes in Life Sciences, Fundamental Physics and Mathematics were awarded November 4, 2018 at a gala ceremony at NASA’s Hangar 1 in Mountain View, California. The event was hosted by Pierce Brosnan, with live performances by Lionel Richie and G.E.M. The awards were presented by Mark Zuckerberg and Lupita Nyong’o, Lucy Hawking and Sergey Brin, Ron Howard and Susan Wojcicki, Rachel McAdams and Daniel Schulman, Orlando Bloom and Anne Wojcicki, Julianne Moore and Priscilla Chan and Thandie Newton and Dara Khosrowshahi. Julia Milner and G.E.M. awarded the Breakthrough Junior Challenge prize, and Eddie Redmayne, Yuri Milner and Lucy Hawking presented a tribute to Stephen Hawking. The event was produced by Vanity Fair and Don Mischer Productions and broadcast live on National Geographic, Facebook and YouTube. Watch the ceremony here.