2016 Breakthrough Prize Ceremony

The 2016 Breakthrough Prize ceremony was held November 8, 2015 at NASA’s Hangar 1 in Mountain View, California. Host Seth MacFarlane was joined by Christina Aguilera, Russell Crowe, Kate Hudson, Hilary Swank, Lily Collins, Thomas Middleditch and Martin Starr, who presented the Breakthrough Prizes alongside Silicon Valley's Sal Khan, Sundar Pinchai, Drew Houston, Jan Koum and prize founders Anne Wojcicki, Sergey Brin, Mark Zuckerberg, Priscilla Chan, Yuri Milner and Jack Ma (via video from China). Pharrell Williams performed “Freedom” before an audience that included leading figures from the worlds of technology, business, entertainment and academia. The event was produced by Vanity Fair and Don Mischer Productions. The show was broadcast live on National Geographic channel and later on Fox and National Geographic channels worldwide. Watch clips from the ceremony here.