2013 Fundamental Physics Prize Ceremony

The inaugural Breakthrough Prize ceremony was held March 20, 2013, in Geneva, Switzerland, where the Fundamental Physics Prize was won by Alexander Polyakov. The ceremony was hosted by Morgan Freeman and featured music from Sarah Brightman and classical pianist Denis Matsuev. Along with the main physics awards, two Special Fundamental Physics Prizes of $3 million were given to Stephen Hawking and to seven CERN scientists with leading roles in the discovery of the the Higgs boson, who were interviewed by Charlie Rose via live satellite link from New York. Videos are available here.